Minority languages 政治与政府

Hi, I am just learning Sardinian, a minority language in Italy. Do you speak a minority language and how is the situation for minority language speakers in your country?

For me the minority languages are destined to disappear. Personally I don’t understand the necessity to learn a local language of the past that will not allowed you to contact a lot of people. Where I live also there was a regional language and sometime some words or way of speaking could change at few kilometers of distance. The actual Occitan language is a synthesis of that and doesn’t correspond exactly with the reality of the past. You are German, I was one time in Bavaria. I remember that Bavarian had a dialect that couldn't understand other Germans. Why learning that if that is another way to separate people?
English is the actual international language. We could think it’s bad or good but I think it's more important first to know it. Of course I will not impeach somebody to learn an old language very specific of a little territory. But for me it's wasting time, it's better to learn a living language if you want to communicate with other peoples.

As a French, I also agree that french minority languages are bound to disappear. However I don't think that it's a waste of time to learn them and that it's separating people. My grandparents and great-grandparents don't know proper French, so by rejecting that old culture and the ancient languages we are actually marginalizing them. It is part of our identities, we don't have to speak one universal, proper language. I think about all the languages of colonized peoples which have disappeared because they were thought to be too primal and because Europeans wanted to crush and whitewash their cultures !